$70,000 in scholarships awarded to local students

$70,000 in scholarships awarded to local students

(Marietta, GA – June 1, 2021) The Cobb EMC Community Foundation announced this year’s winners of the Cobb EMC Community Foundation Scholarships. Fourteen scholarships of $5,000 each were awarded to area high school seniors with a primary residence served by Cobb EMC. The award can be applied to an accredited two or four-year college or vocational-technical school.

“The Cobb EMC Community Foundation is funded through our generous member contributions to the Operation Round-Up Program,” said Vickie Tardif, chairwoman of the Cobb EMC Community Foundation Board. “We are honored to be able to use these funds to give back to local students in the form of scholarships.”

To be considered, candidates had to be accepted to an undergraduate degree program at any accredited two or four-year university or any accredited vocational or technical institute. Additionally, applicants were required to complete a two-page application, write a two-page autobiographical sketch, and submit an essay highlighting their future plans.

“We can’t wait to see all of the amazing things our scholarship winners accomplish in college or technical school,” said Mark Justice, Director of Education and Community Relations at Cobb EMC. “One of our winners informed us that they are going to lineman school, so we were obviously thrilled to hear that!”

A total of 258 applications were received, and the selection committee invited 14 finalists to the interview round. The annual scholarship was created in 2014 and is funded and administered by the Cobb EMC Community Foundation. The Cobb EMC Community Foundation Scholarship recipients for 2021 are:


  • Ryan Alford - Kennesaw Mountain High School
  • Kevin Barron - Hillgrove High School
  • Bailey Chapin - Pope High School
  • Kaylyn Ferguson - Wheeler High School
  • Noah Fornuto - River Ridge High School
  • Christian Gajadhar - Allatoona High School
  • Kaeden Hill - Campbell High School
  • Christianna Hornigold - Johnson Ferry Christian
  • Jacob Lee - Kennesaw Mountain High School
  • Frederick Reid McClain - Compass Prep Academy
  • Katie Mitchell - Harrison High School
  • Tyler Nichols - North Cobb Christian High School
  • Dawson Templin - Harrison High School
  • Robert Toler - East Paulding High School

Media Contacts:

Cobb EMC | Mike Codichini | 678-355-3058 | pr@cobbemc.com | Facebook | Twitter

About Cobb EMC

Cobb EMC is a not-for-profit, member-owned electric cooperative. The company safely delivers reliable electricity to more than 200,000 residential and commercial consumers in Cobb, Bartow, Cherokee, Fulton, and Paulding counties. Cobb EMC is consistently recognized for low-cost, reliable power, a commitment to renewable energy, and giving back to the communities it serves. Cobb EMC is one of the largest EMC's in the nation, and the company’s wholly-owned subsidiary Gas South is a leading provider of natural gas in the Southeast. For more information, visit www.cobbemc.com.


Recent Stories

Cobb EMC is deeply committed to providing affordable and reliable electricity to our members and empowering the communities...
As your cooperative, it’s our duty to serve and invest in the communities where we live and work. And that’s why we...
Keeping your home cool when it’s hot outside can affect your electric bill. We want to help you save money! Use our Energy...
Whether you experience a short-term or long-term power outage, we want you to be prepared and know what to expect. Storms...
This year is Cobb EMC’s 81st annual member appreciation event, and all members are welcome to attend and learn about...


Chat with us!

Have a question or just want to chat with a Cobb EMC member care representative?